What I ate this week: mostly bread

whole wheat sandwich breadThis is an adaptation of my favorite 100% whole wheat sandwich bread — Peter Reinhart’s Broom Bread. The original recipe calls for flax seeds and oat bran, but I’ve found that it takes well to substitutions. This time I used sunflower seeds instead of flax seeds, and millet flour instead of oat bran. Turned out great! I doubled the recipe to make two loaves. I ate one loaf this week (mostly with peanut butter and strawberry jam) and have one left in the freezer.

yogurt bread

More bread. I made a whole wheat quick bread to use up some strange almond milk yogurt my mom bought for me. Evidently, Blue Diamond makes yogurt! And it is not good!

cheerios granola

Cheerios granola! I mixed up some of my never-ending Cheerios supply with quick oats, a mashed banana, the last of the bag of sunflower seeds, peanut butter, ground flax, and agave. Delicious!

salad

When I wasn’t eating bread-based meals, I had a lot of salads with baked tofu, carrots, and lentil hummus. This one was eaten on top of my cutting mat while I made a purse out of an old pair of khakis. The strap looked like crap, so I ripped it off. No longer functional as a purse, it’s clipped to my fridge and holding random papers. I kind of like it there!

fridge

The budget:

Restaurant meal at Pluto’s $7.49
Oats (quick) $2.69
Carrots $1.99
Tea $2.38
Total $14.55
Remaining $37.33

I didn’t buy much this week, but I did eat out once. I was training my replacement at work (one more week until I’m out of there!), and she didn’t seem to know what to do for lunch on her first day. I felt bad ditching her, so we went out for overpriced salads. Damn it! I really didn’t want to do that. Eating out is just not worth it.

7 thoughts on “What I ate this week: mostly bread

    • It definitely requires planning ahead (and for me it’s only doable over a weekend), but it’s mostly hands-off. The first day is just stirring and leaving things to sit overnight. I prefer to double or triple the recipe if I’m going to spend the time on it.

    • Thank you! I think I will use the pattern again to make a second purse out of more scrap fabric. The instructions weirdly tell you to sew the whole thing together and then attach the strap to the outside, which looks kind of shitty. I want to do it properly and stick it between the lining and the shell of the bag. Time to cut up more pants!

  1. Love the fridge purse! Cute and not a terrible idea to keep small things handy.

    All caught up on your blog! Apparently I missed quite a bit. But your foray into milk making really has me thinking. Walnut milk? I’d be all up in that.

Leave a comment