What I ate this week: Pantry experiments

anadama breadWhole wheat anadama bread from Peter Reinhart’s Whole Grain Breads. This bread has a lot of cornmeal in it, which gives it an interesting texture. It’s really light and fluffy for a whole grain bread — perfect for sandwiches and toast. The recipe is available here online. I used Earth Balance in place of the butter and agave instead of molasses (leaving out the molasses probably means I shouldn’t call it anadama bread anymore, but I didn’t have any). My dough got a little out of control and I ended up with some huge, wonky shaped loaves.

moong dalMoong dal. Just about everything in my spice collection got dumped into this, including that crazy old jar of beans (5-6 years old at least?). Finally! Goodbye! Actually, this turned out pretty tasty, which is good because it made about 10 servings. The neverending dal.

millet pancakesI’m on a mission to finish off a ridiculous supply of millet flour. Millet flat bread seemed like a good way to kill a lot of it at once, so I decided to try this recipe. I followed the directions exactly, rolling out balls of dough, and I ended up with a dry mess of broken millet shards. I gave up on that method and dumped the remaining dough into a bowl and added more water, baking powder, a little bit of agave, and olive oil to make a thin batter. I cooked it like pancakes, and it yielded much better results. They actually turned to have the texture and (sort of) flavor of thick corn tortillas. Not bad. The thing I don’t like about millet flour is the weird, dry mouth feel it leaves (that’s a Food Network term I hate and have never used, but I don’t know how else to describe it!). Or is that just me? No matter what I do with it, I always feel like I’ve just eaten chalk.

chocolate oat muffins4:00am chocolate muffins. I had a really old pint of chocolate soy ice cream in the freezer, and it wasn’t any good to eat anymore (it had gone way past the point of freezer burn), so I decided to melt it down, mix it with applesauce, and use it in baked oatmeal. Disaster. The mixture was too liquidy and sweet, and the resulting oatmeal was just really inedible. I put it in the fridge and saved it. A couple days later, I woke up in the middle of the night and decided it was muffin time. I threw a bunch of whole wheat flour and cocoa powder into the oatmeal mixture (and half a cup of peanut butter for the fat), put it in the oven, and hoped for the best. The result was great! These turned out fudgy and moist, and not too sweet at all. I could not recreate them if I tried, though.

casseroleI didn’t buy any groceries for the second week in a row, which forced me to really dive into the pantry. That’s a good thing, although most of my meals weren’t exactly balanced. My mom showed up mid-week with frozen fruit, spinach, carrots, and broccoli from Costco, so I did actually eat some produce. I used the broccoli in a cheesy quinoa broccoli casserole. I used up an old block of frozen Galaxy “cheddar” rice cheese (“best by” November 2012!), which tasted okay but refused to melt. In any case, this was a really good meal and yielded 8 servings, which I portioned out for the freezer.

I’m house-sitting all of next week, so I’m not sure if I’ll have to buy any food.

Leave a Reply

